I am a survivor

image

I am a suicide survivor. This does not mean that I survived a suicide attempt, but that I have lost a loved one to suicide.
My husband died by suicide on May 30, 2013.

<div class=”separator”
I kept going back and fourth about whether or not I was going to say that my husband died by suicide, on the world wide internet … and then it dawned on me … Why not? … I am not ashamed. I am not ashamed of the life he lived, the struggles we faced, the demons we battled together and the ones he faced alone … And, I want to promote awareness, understanding and compassion, for those who are affected by mental illness and suicide, so why wouldn’t I write about it?!

I began beading (obsessively) after my husband died by suicide, with grandiose ideas of success with an online shop, and I knew nothing about making jewelry, beading or starting a business. So, if my story can help just one person, then I will be happy. This blog is dedicated to MY life. My life as a beader, an online business owner, a suicide survivor, and a widowed mother of two. I am a woman, simply trying to find her place and purpose in this world.

Check out my Etsy Store

Like us on facebook!

 

4 comments

  1. So terribly sorry for your loss. I hope that you will find comfort among the many fine blogs here at WordPress. I know I sure have. Thank you for following my blog. It is an extreme honor.

  2. It’s been one year since my husband died of suicide. Now I’m coping and raising our 4 kids. One of them was born 21 days after he took his life.

Leave a Reply

